WhatGreenCar – Car Of The Year 2010

WhatGreenCar – Car Of The Year 2010

2010 What Green Car

2010 What Green CarWhatGreenCar today releases the short-list for the Car of the Year Award 2010, the most scientifically based green car award in the UK.

Now in its third year, WhatGreenCar uses its unique ratings* to rank the greenest new cars to come to market this year, and will honour the most innovative model with the Green Car of the Year Award. Short-listed cars are rated for environmental impact, value, drive experience and design.

To be selected for the award, new models must be commercially available for purchase or order in the UK during 2010. After-market conversions are not eligible and all cars have to be available directly from the manufacturer. City cars, superminis, small family cars, large family cars, MPVs, executive and sports classes form the initial selection.

Judging and test-drives of the 10 short-listed cars takes place on Wednesday 30th June at Imperial College, London, a university specialising in technological innovation; making it an ideal place for the judges to assess the final line-up. The overall winner of the WhatGreenCar Car of the Year Award 2010 will be announced on Thursday 1st July.

The 10-car short-list for the 2010 Award includes:

  • Mitsubishi i-MiEV 47kW synchronous/Li-ion – WGC Rating: 10 – CO2: 0 g/km
  • Volkswagen Polo 1.2TDi BlueMotion – WGC Rating: 26 – CO2: 89 g/km
  • Citroen DS3 1.6 HDi– WGC Rating: 29 – CO2: 99 g/km
  • Vauxhall Corsa 1.3 CDTi ecoFLEX – WGC Rating: 29 – CO2: 98 g/km
  • Seat Leon 1.6 TDI Ecomotive – WGC Rating: 28 – CO2: 99 g/km
  • Toyota Auris hybrid – WGC Rating: TBC – CO2: 89 g/km
  • Volvo C30 1.6D DRIVe– WGC Rating 29 – CO2: 99 g/km
  • BMW 320d EfficientDynamics– WGC Rating 31 – CO2: 109 g/km
  • Kia Venga 1.4 CRDi – WGC Rating: 33 – CO2: 117 g/km
  • Honda CR-Z hybrid – WGC Rating: TBC – CO2: 117 g/km

The judging panel will also be road-testing the Toyota’s Plug-in Prius. While not eligible for the 2010 Award (it is only available on lease this year), the model will generate a great deal of interest as a possible vision of future vehicle development.
This year’s judges for the 2010 Award are:

  • Adam Vaughn, Environment Deputy Editor, The Guardian
  • Sian Berry, Green Campaigner, We Are Futureproof
  • Ian Featherstone, Fleet Advice Manager, Energy Saving Trust
  • Neil Wallis, Head of Communications, Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership
  • Russell Bray, Freelance automotive journalist
  • Ben Lane, Managing Editor, WhatGreenCar

To find out more about WhatGreenCar and the Car of the Year 2010 Award visit: www.whatgreencar.com